Britons to pay £6 as part of changes to UK visa system post-Brexit

25 Apr 2018 | Posted by Carl Thomas

Britons will have to pay €7 (£6) for a visa if they want to travel to the European Union following Brexit as a result of changes to the EU/UK visa system, the government has announced.

According to EU ambassadors, the visa changes would apply to every UK visitor to the 26 countries making up the Schengen zone, in a system similar to the US ESTA scheme for those from countries who do not require visas.

Currently, Britons going on holiday within the Schengen zone are only required to show a passport and can travel freely. However, alongside paying a fee, Britons travelling to places including Spain and France will be required to provide their personal details including travel information and criminal history.

The plans have been created by the European Commission as part of the EU travel information and authorisation system (Etias) and will apply to all Britons travelling to the zone, whether by plane, road or boat.

Commenting on the announcement, Valentin Radev, interior minister for Bulgaria and chair of the European Council said: “Today’s agreement is another important step in protecting the EU’s external borders.”

“By knowing who is coming to the EU before they even arrive at the border, we will be better able to stop those who may pose a threat to our citizens.”