RUGBY FOOTBALL UNION

NON UK PLAYER INFORMATION GRID (updated May 2013)

VISA / PERMIT	LEVEL	PRO / AM	NOTES
	PERMITTED	STATUS	
EU Passport Holder *	All	Either	No restrictions
Tier 1 (General)	5 & below	Amateur	Prevented from professional sport including as a coach
Tier 2 (Sporting - Rugby Union)	1 & 2 only	Pro	Can only play professional rugby for the club who is the employer holding permit
Tier 2 (General) eg Banking	5 & below	Amateur	Can only take supplementary work in same field as Work Permit is assigned.
Tier 4 (Student Visa)	5 & below	Amateur	Can only play as an amateur for a club which is predominantly amateur
Tier 5 (Sporting)	1 & 2 only	Pro	Can only play professional rugby for the club who is the employer holding permit.
			Maximum of 12 months.
Tier 5 Youth Mobility (Working	5 & below	Amateur	Can only play as an amateur for a club which is predominantly amateur
Holiday Visa)			
Spouse/Accompanying Partner	All	Either	There is no restriction upon the work a person married to or accompanying partner can do.
Ancestry Visa	All	Either	No restrictions apart from visa expiry date
Indefinite Leave to Remain	All	Either	No restrictions
Visitor Visa	5 & below	Amateur	Can only play as an amateur for a club which is predominantly amateur
British Servicemen (Army, Navy,	All	Either	Can play for a professional club on condition that he has written approval from his
RAF)			Commanding Officer

The following table outlines the visa requirements for any non UK born person wishing to play rugby in England

A Player who is from outside the United Kingdom will be classed as a Foreign Player under the RFU competition regulations if they do not meet one of the following criteria:

1. They hold a valid EU Passport

2. They are married to an EU or EEA National

For the purposes of this criterion the following countries are EU or EEA countries:

EU Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.

EEA Member States: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway.

3. They are national of a country which has an Association Agreement with the EU (Kolpak ruling), listed as follows:

a. African, Caribbean and Pacific countries (signatories to the Cotonou Agreement):

Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Comoros, Congo Dem. Rep., Congo Rep. of the, Cook Islands, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Suriname, Swaziland, Tanzania, Republic of Chad, Timor-Leste (aka East Timor), Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Please note that Cuba and Somalia, although ACP countries, are not signatories to the Cotonou Agreement with the European Community.

b. Other nations:

Algeria, Andorra, Croatia, Equatorial Guinea, Georgia, Macedonia, Morocco, Russia, San Marino, Sudan, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey.